As of Tuesday afternoon, the number of Republican candidates who have filed for the 2nd Congressional District caucuses on Saturday is 10, up from six on Monday.

The new candidates include Terry Harper III, Granger; Scott Huffman, Plymouth; Scott Wise, Columbia City; and Michael Nidiffer, Granger.

They join the previously announced candidates: Curt Nisly, Milford; Curtis Hill Jr., Elkhart; Michael Hogberg, Lakeville; Tiernan Kane, South Bend; Christy Stutzman, Middlebury; and Rudolph Yakym III, Granger.

The deadline to file is no later than 72 hours before the caucus, which is at 11 a.m. Saturday.

Indiana Gov. Eric Holcomb called for a special election last week to coincide with the November general election after the death of District 2 U.S. Rep. Jackie Walorski.

Walorski, 58, Elkhart, was one of four people killed Aug. 3 in a two-vehicle accident on Ind. 19, south of Ind. 119. The other three who lost their lives in the crash were Walorski’s district director, Zachery Potts, 27, Mishawaka; her communications director, Emma Thomson, 28, Washington, D.C.; and the driver of the other vehicle, Edith Schmucker, 56, Nappanee.

The Republican caucuses to fill the remainder of Walorski’s current term in the old District 2 and to put a Republican candidate on the November ballot for the 2023-24 term for the new District 2 will be at 11 a.m. Saturday at Grissom Middle School, 13881 Kern Road, Mishawaka.

Yakym is endorsed by Walorski’s husband, Dean Swihart.