ETNA GREEN – Only one candidate had stepped forward to fill the vacancy on the Etna Green town board as of Tuesday night.

Kosciusko County Republican Central Committee Chairman Mike Ragan said that Jason W. Hanes, of 131 W. Railroad St., filed to fill the seat left by the resignation of Todd Slabaugh, board president, earlier this month.

Ragan will announce his choice to fill the vacancy at 2 p.m April 4. Interested candidates must file a declaration of candidacy and statements of economic interests, which are available at the office of Kosciusko County Clerk of the Circuit Court, 121 N. Lake St., Warsaw, then have the paperwork notarized and filed with Ragan no later than 2 p.m. Monday.

Because fewer than two people would be eligible to participate in a precinct committeemen caucus, the task of filling the vacancy falls to Ragan, according to Indiana code. Ragan has said he could consult with Etna Township Republican Precinct Committeeman Steve Sechrist before making his choice.