Thirty-one area organizations have received grants from the Indiana Arts Commission to support their arts programming from July 1, 2018, through June 30, 2019.

Three of those organizations are in Kosciusko County and one is in Akron.

These grants, which total over $208,000, were awarded through the IAC’s partnership with the Community Foundation of St. Joseph County. Since 1998, the Community Foundation has been a Regional Arts Partner for the IAC, overseeing the grants application and award process for St. Joseph, Elkhart, Fulton, Marshall, Kosciusko and Starke counties in northern Indiana.

IAC grants are made in two separate categories: Arts Organization Support (AOS) grants and Arts Project Support (APS) grants. AOS grants provide annual operating support for the ongoing artistic and administrative functions of eligible arts organizations. APS grants provide funding for arts organizations and other organizations to support a specific aspect of the organization’s arts activities. Funding decisions are made with the help of volunteer panelists, who evaluate grant applications based on organizational excellence, community engagement, project management, and artistic quality.

These grants are made possible with appropriated funds from the Indiana State Legislature in conjunction with support from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Local recipients are, by category of funding, AOS Grants:

• Wagon Wheel Theatre, Kosciusko County, $17,985

APS Grants:

• Akron Area Arts League, Fulton County, $4,090

• City of Warsaw, Parks and Recreation Dept., Kosciusko County, $4,090

• Warsaw Performing Arts Center, Warsaw Community High School, Kosciusko County, $4,090.

To learn more about the Community Foundation, visit