INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. announced this year’s group of 13 senior student-athletes who will be honored with the 2020 C. Eugene Cato Memorial Scholarships.

Each individual will receive a $2,500 scholarship for their prep accomplishments and be recognized at this year’s Thomas A. Brady Sports Achievement Awards Dinner established by Methodist Sports Medicine. The upcoming dinner was recently postponed due to current events and will be rescheduled for a later date to be announced.

This year’s recipients are: Shamiya Beasley, Mererillville; Alaina Clady, Plymouth; Mykayla Couchenour, South Knox; Rylee Johnson, Shenandoah; Logan Owens, Henrtyville; Mike Perkins, Prairie Heights; Kinsey Price, Rising Sun; Turner Royal, Bloomfield; Cooper Rusch; New Castle; Kenzee Smith, Decatur Central; Savannah Streiter, Evansville North; Abigail Teipen, South Putnam; and Hannah Tippets, Brownsburg.

Clady has earned 10 varsity letters while showcasing a 4.07 GPA and a class ranking of 9 out of 234.  She is a 4-year letter winner in volleyball and basketball, and a 2-year letter winner in tennis. She was also the team captain for both her basketball and volleyball teams. Outside of athletics, Clady holds numerous leadership positions including being named a class officer and the treasurer of the Interact Club and Business Professionals of America. She is an active member in and out of her community, taking a mission’s trip to the Dominican Republic and volunteering with the Special Olympics, Autism Awareness Carnival, and Dance Marathon.  Alaina is undecided on where she will attend college but is choosing between Indiana University,Purdue University, and Indiana State University.

Each student completed and submitted a formal application and had to meet certain criteria to qualify including: 1) be enrolled and participating in interscholastic athletics at an IHSAA member school during this school year; 2) be a senior at an IHSAA member school who will graduate this school year; 3) win a varsity letter as an athlete in at least one of the 22 IHSAA-sanctioned athletic programs; 4) be nominated by the school’s principal; 5) carry a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or the equivalent; 6) have no violations of the school’s athletic code of conduct; 7) The student must not have been ejected from any IHSAA contest due to unsportsmanlike behavior; 8) The student must verify that he/she has made a commitment to remain substance-free throughout high school.

Nearly 100 completed applications were received from across the state and a blue ribbon panel of six individuals decided upon the final recipients. They are: Bill Benner, senior vice president, Pacers Sports & Entertainment; Rob Craig, director of outreach services and marketing, Methodist Sports Medicine; Joe Fonderoli, director of special events, Indianapolis Colts; Lee Ann Logan, system marketing director, Franciscan Health; Bobby Cox, commissioner, Chris Kaufman, assistant commissioner, Indiana High School Athletic and; Matt Wolfert, president, IHSAA Foundation.

The scholarship program is named in tribute to the late Commissioner C. Eugene Cato who led the IHSAA from 1983 to 1995 and served as assistant commissioner from 1976 to 1983. “Gene’s” passion for athletics and his belief in the intrinsic value of athletic competition on the formation of a child’s character enabled Gene to positively impact generations of young men and women with his well-known “Firm, Fair, and Friendly” approach to caring for others. He passed away in 2008.

Since 2003-04, the IHSAA has recognized 204 outstanding student-athletes  with scholarships totaling $510,000.

In addition to a Lifetime Achievement Award and a Tactical Athlete Comeback Award, the Methodist Sports Medicine Research and Education Foundation also will honor Indiana high school and college student-athletes that have overcome injury or hardship with Brady Comeback Awards.

The keynote speaker for the 2020 Brady Sports Achievement Awards is David Blough, quarterback for the Detroit Lions and former Purdue University signal-caller who was a recipient of the Big Ten Medal of Honor.

For additional information on the awards dinner, visit the  Methodist Sports Medicine website.