10 Years
Dane A. Miller was one of the four founders of Biomet and has been president, chief executive officer and a director of the company since its formation in 1977. The board of directors announced today, March 27, that Miller will retire, but remain a director and serve as a consultant. Senior Vice President Daniel P. Hann was appointed to be president and chief executive officer on an interim basis. Miller says, "I will always be grateful to have worked with such great people and to have played a role in the growth and success of Biomet."

25 Years

Students from the elementary and middle schools in Pierceton participated in the 36th annual Northeastern Indiana Regional Science and Engineering Fair held at Indiana University-Purdue University, Fort Wayne, March 16. Dan Vandewalle, kindergarten, received the second-place award among 10 entries; Rob Vandewalle, 5th-grade, placed first out of 59 participants and also won the director's award. Jacob Courter, from Pierceton Middle School, placed fourth in the physics and astronomy division, while Kurt Vasbinder received a second-place award and certificate, and Kevin Minert was awarded third place.

    Michael W. Darr, son of William and Joan Darr, Warsaw, a senior at Geneva College, Beaver Falls, Pa., was among 35 students named to "Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges" for 1991.

50 Years

Deborah Haywood, 12, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Calvin Haywood, Route 2, Pierceton, has won the Monroe Grade School spelling championship and will compete in the fifth-sixth grade county finals April 2. Deborah defeated Mary Howard, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Booker Howard, Route 2, Pierceton, in the final round. She will be the alternate in the county finals. Colonel Likens is Deborah and Mary's sixth-grade teacher.

    Capt. F.M. Herdrich, Route 2, Syracuse, was honored for 30 years of continuous service with American Airlines. He is based at O'Hare International Airport.

    Jack and Robert Whiteneck, of the Warsaw Laundry and Dry Cleaners Co., 211 South Buffalo St., have announced that the plant has been purchased by Jerry Smith, who has been treasurer of Playtime Products for the last 11 years.

75 Years
Girl Scouts of Troop 6 of the Methodist Church held a Court of Honor Monday night, Feb. 24. Mrs. Lawrence Smith, assisted by Charlotte Ann Clover, lieutenant, gave awards: attendance stars-Pat Leiter, Ann Armington, Margaret Swihart, Ann Bartol, Janet Curtis; ex-patrol leader badges-Ann Bartol, Margery Henderson, Betty Ann Landis, Janet Curtis, Miriam Hanft, Jeanne Rowdabaugh, Martha Cox, Dona Aker, Buthene Garber; patrol leader badges-Ann Armington, Joyce Hunter, Martha Cox; assistant patrol leaders-Joanne Swoverland, Ann Bartol, Janet Curtis, Miriam Hanft, Barbara Martin, Margery Henderson, Betty Landis, Dona Aker, Buthene Garber, Margaret Swihart; troop scribe-Pat Leiter and Martha Cox; troop treasurer-Betty Landis, Dona Aker; second-class scout pins-Ann Armington, Joanne Swoverland, Joyce Hunter, Ann Bartol; Margery Henderson.