10 Years
Princess M. Frush, a lifetime resident of Warsaw, will celebrate her 95th birthday Thursday, Feb. 16, at Hickory Creek Nursing Home in Rochester. She was born to Jake and Bessie Rathbun in 1911, graduated from Leesburg High School, and married Robert C. Frush in 1933. They were the first residents to move into the Retired Tigers Apartments when it was built. Robert passed away in 1986 and Princess moved to Hickory Creek in 2005. There are two children: James W., Senatobia, Miss., and Ellen Reed, Rochester.

    Mandy Duncan's first-grade class at Leesburg Elementary School have been learning about communities and how to be good citizens. The students created a community-neighborhoods, roads, lakes, traffic signs, shops and restaurants.

25 Years
Warsaw wrestlers Aaron Wilson took first, while teammates Dan Hatch and Chris Neeley placed fourth at the semistate at Fort Wayne Coliseum Saturday, Feb. 9. The three earned a trip to the state wrestling finals in Indianapolis next Friday and Saturday. Warsaw tied for sixth with Concord and East Noble with 44 points. Delta won the team title with 98.5 points. Wrestling but not advancing were Richard VanOsdol, Joel Holder and Josh Small. Area wrestlers failing to make the top four: Mike Atkins and Chris Requejo, Wawasee; Jason Cardwell and Clay Hooley, Triton; and Matt Krider, Whitko.

    Kris Doron had 18 points, 12 rebounds and seven assists to lead the Lakeland Christian Academy girls basketball team to a 49-35 victory over visiting Heritage of Indianapolis Saturday, Feb. 9. Rachelle Plaster added 10 tallies; Beth James, eight.

50 Years
City firemen Allen Hartman and Gene Kindle use a hose from a fire department tanker to fill one of the public ice skating rinks at the end of North Indiana Street. Lighting has been installed and an attendant will be on duty during the hours of 4 and 6 p.m. each day. Superintendent of Parks and Recreation, Avery (Pat) Garber, cautioned youngsters not to throw gravel or stones on the ice. He reported that this has been done on several occasions in the past and spoils the surface for skating.

    Dr. Thomas Keough, of Warsaw, was elected president of the Kosciusko County Medical Society at a recent meeting. Dr. Wymond Wilson, Mentone, serves as vice president, and Dr. Roland Snider, Warsaw, as secretary-treasurer.

75 Years
The 1941 county cage tournament was one of the best in years. The Times and Union sports writers picked their selection for the all-county team, which was made easier this year by the fact that three boys stood out above all others for the honored posts. Kenny Drudge, Beaver Dam, was easily the best forward; Kenny Anderson, Warsaw, the best pivotman; Jimmy Goshorn, Leesburg, guard. Second best were Ringenberg, of Pierceton, and Sarber, of Mentone, for first team berths.

    Second team: Johnny Anglin, Leesburg, and Argyl Brallier, Warsaw, forward; Eugene Werstler, Pierceton, pivotman; Roger Plew and Eugene Buell Warsaw, guards. Honorable mention: Carl Bradway, Atwood; Dale Creakbaum, Beaver Dam; Lamoine Parker, Burket; Frank Adams, Claypool; L. Mason, Etna Green; Ray Teeple, Leesburg; John Tucker, Mentone; O. Wuthrich, Milford; Vanator, North Webster; Bixler, Pierceton; Bob Stevens, Sidney; Beck, Syracuse; G. Arnold, Silver Lake; Bud Lucas, Warsaw.