10 Years
Manchester High School presents "The King and I" Jan. 19, 21, and matinee Sunday, the 22nd. William Rhudy plays the King of Siam and Maya Hippensteel is the English governess who comes to his country to teach the children about the modern world. There are 88 K-12 Manchester Community School students in the cast. Community members Denny Unger and Becky Kock built the set and painted an incredible mural for the setting of Ancient Siam, now known as Thailand.

    A gift from the estate of Bob Richmond was presented to Grace College and Seminary for the Orthopaedic Capital Center to be constructed near the Grace campus. It will be available for community functions.

25 Years

Kim Nance has accepted the position of volunteer program coordinator at Combined Community Services, Warsaw. She replaces Jim Stafford, who has been promoted to assistant director. Nance has been active with various volunteer groups in the area.

    Akron School received the School Improvement Award from Indiana's Department of Education in recognition of significant improvement in math, ISTEP scores, language arts and attendance during the 1989-1990 school year. Brett Boggs is principal.

    Shawn Krull, son of Mr. and Mrs. Hubert Krull, Milford, Wawasee High School, and Jill Sommers, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Richard Sommers, Silver Lake, Warsaw Community High School, joined 37 Indiana winners at National 4-H Club Congress in Chicago Dec. 1-6.

50 Years

The year 1966 will start a new chapter in the lives of the Melvin R. Secor family. T/Sgt. Secor will soon become a civilian and a member of the Pierceton community after 23 years of Army life. His wife, Alice, and four children have been living in Pierceton for the past year and a half; her in-laws are Samuel and Treva Secor of Burket. Marie,13; Melvin, 8; and Rickie, 6, attend Pierceton school. Sandra, 3, remains at home.

    Kathy Blackford has been installed as president of the Tippecanoe Community Youth Group. Serving as vice president will be Glen Ellinger, with Brenda Blackford as secretary and Marsha Blackford as treasurer. Carol Reichard was installed as social chairman and will be assisted by John Yantis.

 75 Years

Chief deputies in the offices at the court house have all been retained for the new year: clerk, George E. Phillips; treasurer, Mrs. Ray Kincaide; auditor, Ruth Jane Arnold; recorder, Charles Tucker; sheriff, Charles Ward. No deputy surveyor has been named since the resignation of Malcolm Bowman several weeks ago.

    A check for $36, 321.36 was received Thursday, Jan. 2, by County Auditor Helen J. Kyle from the state for the county's share of the gasoline tax. The amount represents the fourth quarter of 1940, and goes into the highway department fund.

    In the estate of James H. Whittinghill, the administrator, Charles R. Lamoree, has been granted authority by Judge John A. Sloane to sell real estate in Clay township, near Packerton.