With only two weeks to go before filing for the November general election ends, nine people have filed for the 18 area school board seats up for election as of Thursday afternoon.
Tippecanoe Valley, Triton, Wa-Nee and Wawasee each have three contested seats. Warsaw has four and Whitko has two.
Filing for the general election started July 23 and ends at noon Aug. 22. Candidates must have 10 valid signatures, which can be from the entire school district or within their district.
For Warsaw Community Schools, the board is voted on by district. A voter has to live in a district to vote for that position, so it will not appear on every ballot within the school district.
According to the filings at Kosciusko Clerk of the Circuit Court, one person has filed for each of the four Warsaw school board seats as of Thursday afternoon.
Matt Dick, West CR 350S, Warsaw, has filed for District 1; Heather Reichenbach, Barrington Place, Warsaw, filed for District 2; Jennifer Tandy, Stone Camp Trail, Winona Lake, filed for District 5; and Dan Metzger, East Ind. 14, Silver Lake, filed for District 7.
Dick, Tandy and Metzger are all incumbents. Delores Hearn is the current District 2 school board member but can not run for re-election due to term limits.
So far for Wawasee, only Rebecca L. “Becky” Linnemeier, North Camelot Trail, Milford, has filed. She is the incumbent for Van Buren and Jefferson townships, District 3.
The other Wawasee seats available are District 1, Tippecanoe Township, and District 2, Turkey Creek Township. Those seats currently are held by Robert Fisher and Mary Lou Dixon.
No one as of Thursday filed for Tippecanoe Valley. Seats up for election are District 3, Franklin Township in Kosciusko County; District 4, Henry Township, Fulton County; and District 5, New Castle Township, Fulton. Currently representing Valley in those seats are Mark Wise, Bryan Murphy and Rod Eaton.
While the original petition for Valley must be done in Kosciusko, the petition for Triton School Board is to be filed in Marshall County.
Seats up for election at Triton are: District 1, Tippecanoe Township in Marshall County; District 2, Etna Township, Kosciusko; and District 4, Town of Bourbon, Marshall County.
Teresa Barnhart, 14th Road, Bourbon, won District 1 in 2010 and has filed for re-election.
Andrew Cook won District 2 and Marcia Keyser won District 4 in 2010. Since then, Keyser has left the board and was replaced by Jerilyn Anders, and Cook left the board and was replaced by Steven Stichter.
According to the Marshall County Clerk’s Office, Kenneth Miller, North Washington Street, Bourbon, has filed for the Triton District 4 school board seat.
Other than Barnhart and Miller, no one else has filed for a Triton seat.
Original filings for the two Whitko Community School Board seats are to be filed in Kosciusko, but no one had filed as of Thursday.
Seats open at Whitko include: District 4, covering Jackson, Monroe and Washington townships in Kosciusko; and District 5 in Richland and Cleveland townships in Whitley County. Those seats were won in 2010 by Deborah Collier and Marilyn Jane Gebert.
Wa-Nee Community School Board original filing is at Elkhart County. All three seats are in Elkhart County and include Harrison, Locke and Union townships. They are represented by Larry Weaver, Ed Moser and Lou Bonacorsi respectively.
According to elkhartcountyclerk.com, Weaver, CR 7, Elkhart, and Moser, CR 46, Nappanee, both have filed for re-election. No other person has filed for any of the seats as of Thursday.