10 Years Ago
Adam Russell, 8, was downtown with his parents Audrey and Duane Russell, Warsaw, Friday evening when National City Bank provided a watermelon treat.
Megan Davis, daughter of Randy and Laurie Owen, Winona Lake, was crowned 2004 Kosciusko County Fair Queen by Annette Lamb, 2003 Fair Queen. First runner-up is Allison Scherer, daughter of Bill and Pam Scherer, Syracuse; Laurel Jenks, daughter of Philip and Shannon Jenks, Warsaw, second; Bethany Kinney, daughter of Don and Kima Kinney, Warsaw, third. Miss Congeniality was Litasha Blair, daughter of Robert and Linda Blair, Claypool; and Wendy Hopper, Warsaw, won Non-Finalist Interview prize. Music was provided by Merri Grace Spencer and Thomas Boyd.
25 Years Ago
Ham radio operators Harold Sensibaugh, Silver Lake, and Jim Townsend, Pierceton, took part in a simulated field emergency. Local operators were set up in a field on U.S. 30 east.
Twenty-five year members of Warsaw Lodge #73 of the Free and Accepted Masons were honored. They were Joe Paxton, Dale Skinner, Phil Neff, Don Hanft, Fred McKrill, George Himes, Dave Delp, Robert Leek, Hal Smith and Verne Kinney. Newly elected officers are Kim Leake, Charles Cole, James W. Johnson, Robert Fox, John Ladd, D. Michael Ringer, Richard Zimmer, John Hall, Terry West and Dan Walcott.
Warsaw’s Tony Elliott became the first repeat winged sprint feature winner on 4-H night at the Warsaw Speedway in his silver No. 57. Winning his first feature of the year was Akron’s Jeff Bucher in his No. 37 street stock.
50 Years Ago
Lincoln Elementary city track and field champs are Bill Hamilton, Danny Strayer, Budd Rudd, Steve Shumaker, Mike Gilliam, Bruce Grossnickle, Steve Ramsey, Bob Brown, Bill Shafer, Stan Becher, Kim and Brian Essenburg, Mark LaSuer, Doug Robinson and Mike Parker. Coach is Gene Butts; assistant, Lavon Harman; principal, Floyd Hollar.
Robert Burner, 34, is Warsaw’s new city judge, replacing the late Judge Allan Widaman who died May 6. Judge Burner’s term will run for four years until Jan. 1, 1968.
It was reported to Sheriff Holbrook that a street sweeper was taken from Leesburg where a construction firm from Fort Wayne is resurfacing streets in the community.
75 Years Ago
These Warsaw High School’s basketball team were awarded letters Wednesday: Daryll Lancaster, Charles Hay, Robert Buell, Bruce Howard, Billy Matthews, Chester Glant, Bob Bayne, Robert Kesler, Kenneth Anderson and Curtis Garber. Hay also received a sweater with captain’s stripe.
John Berlin and Ernest Leedy won the Warsaw Boys Club double carom tourney, defeating Rollin Knulf and Sam Neher in straight games, 13-11; 13-9.